Back by air…

No boats this time…

35 years ago, I lost a sandal jumping onto the pier to land on a barge that would take us away from the madness and mayhem that was unfolding as Saigon fell before our eyes.

The hours and days that followed, we floated on the open seas wet and miserable.  I went for weeks with only the one sandal on.  I suppose I could have ditched that sandal and just gone barefoot, but instead I clung on to it like my life depended on it, which I suppose it did in a way.

Going back today with both sandals on my feet and luggage as well.  With no need to run for dear life this time around, I even have time to stop for a cappucino before my flight.

~ by elisjade on April 23, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
